Leukemia, Chemotherapy and Food

I knew this was gonna be a rough ride about three days into the first chemo treatment. Almost everything began to taste metallic. For a food lover, it’s very disappointing. Imagine your favorite foods tasting like aluminum foil.

But as a chef, it’s one of the most unnerving things I’ve had to deal with. No matter what I put in my mouth, it didn’t taste like it was supposed to. Luckily I discovered that honey-roasted peanuts, Italian bread and mozzarella cheese tasted just fine. Fortunately, this episode lasted only six weeks and I manage to lose 18 pounds.

Now that the chemo is done, the medications I take to stave off infection (my likely killer) make me queasy. The anti-nausea meds help, but after 51 years, I’ve finally lost my appetite.

I tried watching cooking shows, reading food blogs, eating my mother’s homemade cookies, paging through cooking magazines, and using herbal appetite enhancers. Nothing. Nada. Zilch.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Terry on March 29, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I read that smoking a particular “brand”, helps a great deal with the nausea as well as helping to boost the appetite a bit. But I’m sure you know that already!! Miss you! T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

